The Amish call it “giving themselves up”

When I first heard this phrase, I thought it sounded vaguely criminal, as in the cops are coming; give it up. WHY would one find this a desirable, much less spiritual, practice? 

All my life, I’ve been a fighter. I struggled against the constraints of family, of society, of ANYONE who would place me in their  box. Anger at God/spirit was included in the struggle. I never wanted to give in or give over. The most I would concede was that maybe, there might be gods, or goddesses. If so, those were in nature.(I believed; still DO believe God is present in many, many ways…including nature. Thousands of aspects; one Great Spirit.)

Then came Tim’s cancer. Concurrently, we lost our mother(with whom I shared a rocky & complicated relationship); my father had open heart surgery; and I reached the end of a soul-killing marriage. All in a two-year period. 

Since last December(after Mom’s death & leaving the marriage), I’ve been learning about giving myself up. Giving MANY things up…up forever, up to the silence, up for my betterment, finally, finally! Up to God.  

I now know the peace and joy of surrender to a higher power; the relief of laying down my burdens. It’s easier to allow, not force(thank you, Krista; ❤️ you!). 

I give myself up, to be open to this wonderful, magical life I am blessed with; gratitude and love to you all.  I lift up my Baby Bro that he be crossed over with joy, as is his desire. I offer up my grief, that I find ease and comfort. 

I give myself up. I am at peace. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment